Working Momma’s Menus

20 Apr

20120420-171046.jpg

It is shortly after 6pm by the time I get home from work and picking the boys up at preschool each day. If those boys don’t eat by 6:45 (7 at the very latest) I would have true monsters on my hands, so I don’t have much time to get a meal done from start to finish. Of course, cooking would go much quicker and more smoothly if I didn’t have to keep stopping to ask one child to take the mixing bowl off his head and the other one to stop jumping off the couch, but such is our lot in life these days. I know many of you are in the same boat and I’m sure years from now we’ll look back on it all and laugh but frankly these days I’m usually too exhausted to even bother. That’s why I started planning my meals like this – it really helps me stay organized. I can do some tasks the night before or even in the morning before leaving for work and then when I get home I know exactly what needs to be done. I don’t have to panic and wonder what to make or if we have the right ingredients in the house. Of course, to make things more difficult on myself, I also really enjoy trying out new recipes (mostly to moderate success, although occasionally to complete disaster). These next two weeks I have quite a few new recipes I want to give a try. I’m hoping they’re all successes – K is finally eating pasta and so I’m a little giddy at the thought of all the possibilities!

So while I’m still planning out my menus two weeks at a tim and put them on my little dry erase board, I’m not going to list them out here by date anymore. For starters, I’ve been switching them around last minute a lot to accomodate our schedules, and secondly, I have to be honest, the idea of putting the nights we are out of the house online was just a little too creepy for me. Either way, here are our 9 recipes for the next two weeks 🙂

1. Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken over rice with roasted broccoli

A new slow cooker recipe that I have high hopes for. With the greatest side dish of all time.

2. Skinny Penne ala Vodka

This recipe uses Greek yogurt to give it creaminess without all the fat!

3. Parmesan and Panko crusted Tilapia with (Weight Watchers!) Spinach Muffins

I know, spinach muffins! Sounds crazy – but I think they’ll be a great side dish to a healthy fish dinner.

4. Chicken Enchilada Pasta

Mexican meets Italian!

5. Red Peppers stuffed with Rice and chicken sausage

Even if your kids (like mine) only eat the stuffing, it’s still a great meal.

6. Arugula and White Beans with Pasta

Heart healthy and filling, white beans go great with slightly spicy arugula from a GREAT menu planner.

7. Tuna Puttanesca

This is originally a Rachael Ray recipe that I’ve tweaked to make even easier. I can probably make it blind folded at this point. So quick. So good.

8. Slow Cooker Chicken and Lentils over rice

Apparently, young boys love lentils. Who knew?

9. Spaghetti with Muffin Tin Meatballs

Because my husband specifically requested this.

Leave a Reply

