Comfort Foods for Rainy Days

21 May

So I’m running a little behind schedule this round.  Work has been busy and has had to take priority.  But we still have to eat and while we didn’t make it to the grocery store this weekend, we’re going to raid the pantry for dinner tonight and get back on the wagon tomorrow.  I’m also feeling a little uninspired right now – possibly due to the non-stop torrential downpours – and nothing is really jumping out at me.  Although all the rain has put me in the mood of some good old fashioned comfort foods.  And I do have a bunch of new recipes to try – hopefully a few will make it into our regular rotation.  It’s also a shorter menu than usual, as it’s a holiday week.  Michael will be manning the grill on Memorial Day and we’ll be out of the house at least once this week.  Plus, I’m excited to try a new RR recipe that one of my best friends from college recommended me.  So I guess I’m not totally in a rut – and by the end of the week hopefully we’ll be feeling good about dinner again!

1.  Slow Cooker Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup with Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Talk about the ultimate rainy day comfort foods.  I might “fancy-up” my grilled cheese with some fresh mozzarella and/or fresh basil leaves, but the kids like theirs plain.  Either way, I wish we could stay in all day and eat this!

2.  Rachael Ray’s Oven Fried Fish Mushy Spring Peas

This is Whip’s recommendation – and she has excellent taste, so I’m sure it will be great!

3.  Greek Turkey Picadillo

Because it is easy, yummy, and uses up stuff from our pantry

4. Tuna, Tomatoes, White Beans with pasta

A RR inspired dish that is also using up stuff in the pantry until we can get ourselves to the store

5. Ravioli with Roasted Sesame and Honey Carrots

6. Turkey Kielbasa with Peas and Carrots over Egg Noodles

One last dish trying to use up everything in the house

7.  Michael’s Spaghetti with Slow Cooker Meat Sauce

I have to get the recipe from him – but the boys love it!  I’ll update once he gets it to me.

8.  Pasta with Goat Cheese, Baby Spinach and Cherry Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

