Countdown to Summer

1 Jun

I don’t know about you, but I am ready for summer. Not just the warm weather, lazy days at the pool, and extra hours of daylight, but also for summer food. Berries! Stone fruit! Grilling! Salads! It is all good and light and generally makes me happy. And while it officially isn’t summer for a few more weeks, I’m ready to start at least a few summer recipes. I’ve got a mix of tried-but-true recipes from my regular rotation, plus some of my own usual summer mix, and a few new ones that I’m looking forward to trying out. And if you have any healthy, easy, yummy summer recipes to share, please do!

1. Avocado Fettucine

A lighter, creative version of fettuccini that I’m excited to try! I think I might add some tomatoes and a handful of Parmesan.

2. Shepherd’s Pie

I’ll make this the night before so it just needs to be reheated in the oven for dinner after work.

3. Yogurt Marinated Chicken with Tomato and Cucumber Couscous

This is an easy marinade that can be used for grilled or baked chicken and the quickest side you can make.

4. Healthy Chicken Piccata with Orzo and Broccoli Rabe

5. Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken with Spring Vegetables

I’ll be honest, I’m not particularly optimistic about this dish, but I think it sounds worth trying out. At least it’s easy to make!

6. Fish Tacos with Black Beans and Rice

7. 20 Minute Skinny Sesame Chicken with Rice and Roasted Broccoli

8. Caprese Pasta (Pasta with Tomatoes, Basil, and Mozzarella)

Summer in a bowl.

9. Slow Cooker Moussaka with Rice

Leave a Reply

