Vacation Planning

15 Jun

So B “graduated” from preschool this week, which was simultaneously one of the most ridiculous yet precious things I’ve ever witnessed.   And like any senior graduating from school, he’s hitting the beach!  Which means we only have half the number of meals to plan this time around.  Of course, we’re doing some meal planning and some serious packing for vacation too, but we get to share that burden with my parents and brother and his wife.  In the meantime, we’re taking it easy with some quick dinners (at least one of which I meant to make this week and never got around to).  As always, it’s a mix of tried-but-true recipes and some new ones I’ve never tried before.  And also, as always, I’m loving the dinner suggestions I’ve been getting – keep sending them my way!

1. Slow Cooker Turkey Meatball Subs with Oven Fries and Salad

I love meatball subs, and this is an easy way to enjoy them with all the prep work done the night before!

2. Skinny 20 minute Sesame Chicken with Roasted Broccoli

Yeah, this was on last week’s menu – but we didn’t get around to making it, so I’ve still got 3 heads of broccoli sitting in my fridge .  .  .

3. Indian-Inspired Sloppy Joes with flat bread and sauteed spinach

A Rachael Ray recipe recommended by a good friend! I’ll be making it with ground turkey, but if you want to make it with lamb – go crazy!

4. Spinach-Turkey Roll with mashed potatoes

Turkey meatloaf stuffed with spinach?  Sure, why not!

5.  Braised chicken with olives, carrots, and chick peas over rice

I honestly have no idea where this recipe originated from – I have it written down in an old notebook full of recipes I’ve made.  It’s good and easy though.

2 Responses to “Vacation Planning”

  1. Cristie Lucas June 16, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Your recipes are fantastic and inspiring for tired mommies everywhere! Glad I checked this out – and thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

