August Already??

3 Aug

I know it’s a cliche, but I really cannot believe it is August already.  Another two weeks are done – this summer is really flying by.  Not much to report here – I’m hoping to have a couple dinners done on the grill so Michael can take over and I can take it easy.  This last stretch of summer is always so bitter-sweet.  I find myself starting to stress over the impending fall rather than enjoying one last month of pool time, sunshine, and relaxation (well, relative to other times of the year anyway).  At least I don’t have to stress about dinner every night!

  1. Curried Chicken Penne with Mango Chutney

My kids love fresh mango – and this Cooking Light recipe looks like an interesting twist to regular old chicken curry.

  1. Easy Chicken Lo Mein

They had me at “Easy”. 

  1. Slow Cooker Meatball Subs with Roasted Sesame and Honey Carrots 

I made a big batch of meatballs in the oven a couple weeks ago and froze them.  Now I’ll just heat them up in the slow cooker and voila – easiest dinner ever!

  1. Everything Grilled Chicken Salad

This isn’t your typical grilled chicken salad – this whole thing is grilled, lettuce and all – and it’s delicious!

  1. Baked Parmesan and Panko Tilapia with Onion Soup Potatoes

Since I never got around to making these potatoes last week, they’re getting a second chance.

  1. Salsa Verde Chicken Bake with Black Beans and Rice

Quite possibly one of the easiest dinners to throw together, from one of my favorite websites.

  1. Slow Cooker Eggplant Moussaka

When I’m trying lots of new recipes at home, I find it’s a good idea to throw in something I know the kids love and are familiar with too. 

  1. Sicilian Rice Ball Casserole

Sounds like a funny name – but it’s from the genius Gina at SkinnyTaste.   I’ll make it with Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage. 

  1. Tomato Pie and Grilled Chicken Sausages

Another Simply Recipes dish that I wanted to try last summer and never had a chance to.  I’ll see if Michael can pick up tomatoes from the farmer’s market for this one and then make it with low-fat mayo.

Leave a Reply

